This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

LSMSA Confers 101 Degrees During 40th Commencement Ceremony

LSMSA’s Class of ’24, which included students from 38 Louisiana parishes, collectively garnered more than $32 million in scholarship awards and earned more than 3,200 hours of dual-enrollment college credit.
Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA), a public, residential high school for high-achieving Louisiana sophomores, juniors, and seniors, held its 40th Commencement Ceremony at 2 p.m. on Saturday, May 18. One hundred one members of the Class of ‘24 graduated during the afternoon ceremony, which was held at Prather Coliseum on the campus of Northwestern State University. The addition of the Class of ‘24 increases the total number of LSMSA graduates since the school’s founding in 1983 to 5,705.
LSMSA’s Class of ’24 includes students from 38 Louisiana parishes. Collectively, members of the class were offered more than $32 million in undedicated, merit-based scholarships. Eighty-six percent of the class took advantage of dual enrollment at Northwestern State University, where they earned 3,200 hours of college credit. Thirty-four members of the Class of ’24 will leave LSMSA having earned an associate degree from Northwestern State University. Seventy-two members of LSMSA’s Class of '24 will remain in Louisiana to attend colleges and universities throughout the state. Others will continue their studies at colleges and universities including Duke University, Georgia Tech, Howard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Wake Forest University, and Wellesley College.    
Watch a snippet of the LSMSA Choir's performance during the 40th annual Commencement Ceremony.
Highlights of the 40th Commencement Ceremony included a keynote address by LSMSA’s first-ever Executive Director Emeritus, Dr. Arthur S. Williams, and the dedication of the Sharon T. Gahagan Art Gallery, an exhibition space named in honor of longtime LSMSA Board Chair Sharon Turcan Gahagan. Five graduates—Anastasia Adams-Giron, of Alexandria, Elana Eastridge, of Slidell, Sam Ryan, of Sugartown, Chloe Trosclair, of Bourg, and Kushal Upadhyay, of Leesville—were inducted into the Robert Alost Hall of Fame, which is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon LSMSA students. The senior address, entitled “Mosaic,” was delivered by Mackenzie LaCombe of Prairieville.
“We each had our own reasons for coming here,” LaCombe said. “For some of us, it was about accomplishing goals. For others, it was a steppingstone to something bigger. What we all have in common is our time shared here and its impact beyond this moment.”
Diplomas were officially conferred by Dr. Steve Horton, LSMSA Executive Director, with help from Dr. Bill Ebarb, Special Assistant to the Executive Director, Angela Couvillion (’93), Registrar and Chief Articulation Officer, and Dr. Jason Anderson, Director of Academic Affairs. Dr. Horton encouraged students to “continue to excel” in their lives after LSMSA.
“I want to challenge this class to continue to learn and serve,” Dr. Horton said. “You will continue to bring esteem and distinction to your alma mater as you serve your communities, your country, and humanity. It's your responsibility.”
LSMSA is a tuition-free, public high school for high-achieving rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors with a nominal room and board fee to cover housing, meals, and campus activities. The LSMSA Foundation offers assistance for families in need to ensure that no eligible student is denied the school’s 40-year legacy of a premium college-level living/learning experience. 
For more information about LSMSA, or to apply for the 2024-25 academic school year, visit www.LSMSA.edu.
LSMSA’s newest alumni by parish are:
Acadia Parish
Blaise Comeaux, Crowley 
Allen Parish
Nathan Dart, Oakdale
Ascension Parish
Kaylyn Coughlin, Prairieville
Mackenzie LaCombe, Prairieville
Assumption Parish
Elizabeth Orgeron, Thibodeaux
Avoyelles Parish
Charlie DeSoto, Plaucheville 
Beauregard Parish
Reese Anderson, Longville
Aurora Bauer, DeRidder
Sam Ryan, Sugartown
Valentine Williams, DeRidder
Bienville Parish
Ava Toms, Castor
Bossier Parish
McKenzie Barker, Benton
Malorie Hood, Benton
Jackson Owen, Bossier City
Kaylee Raper, Bossier City
Anna Beth Scales, Benton
Caddo Parish
Ainsley Hanes, Shreveport
Calcasieu Parish
Zoe Cappel, Lake Charles
Will Garner, Lake Charles
Jackson Green, Lake Charles
Luke Millslagle, Iowa
Layla Navarre, Sulphur
Caldwell Parish
Trinity Hatten, Grayson
Claiborne Parish
Ragan Penix, Athens
East Baton Rouge Parish
Ade Adjignon, Baton Rouge
Frannie Barrier, Zachary
Madden Coker, Zachary
William Huguet, Greenwell Springs
Chloe LaCarriere, Zachary
Madeline McCoy, Baton Rouge
Gavin Taylor, Baker
Julian Vertigan, Baton Rouge
Evangeline Parish
Lily Godwin, Pine Prairie
Sebastian Lee, Ville Platte
Franklin Parish
Cody Williams, Winnsboro
Lafayette Parish
Gabe Boudreaux, Lafayette
Cohl Cliburn, Lafayette
Grace Henry-Tarrant, Lafayette
Ryan Le, Lafayette
Jesse Llewellyn, Lafayette
Lafourche Parish
Lucia Allemand, Thibodaux
Lasalle Parish
Basil Pugh, Trout
Livingston Parish
Simone Greenup, Walker
Brenley Murry, Walker
Ryan Thomas, Denham Springs
Nathaniel Vise, Walker
Ally Yerby, Saint Amant
Natchitoches Parish
Jamal Barnes, Coushatta
Alayna Dees, Natchitoches
Hanna Gahagan, Natchitoches
Joe Maggio, Natchitoches
Josephine Rivers, Natchitoches
Sophia Witman, Natchitoches
Jack Yi, Natchitoches
Ouachita Parish
Avery Colegrove, Monroe
Susan Murphy, Monroe 
Pointe Coupee Parish
Kameron Friddle, New Roads
Rapides Parish
Anastasia Adams-Giron, Alexandria
Camille Kirzner, Alexandria
Sophia Lytle, Alexandria
Najm Shalabi, Alexandria 
Neely Teekell, Boyce
Red River Parish
Diamond Smith, Coushatta
Sabine Parish
Katy Bass, Belmont
St. Bernard Parish
Andre Williams, Viola
St. Charles Parish
Bella Fairleigh, Destrehan
Sarah Green, Luling
Hunter Hicks, Luling
William Reed, Luling
Conner Rome, Luling
St. James Parish
Oli Louque, Paulina
St. John the Baptist Parish
Emma Wale, Laplace
St. Landry Parish
Aiden Allgire, Port Barre
Taylor Citizen, Opelousas
Emily Gary, Eunice
Zion Johnson, Opelousas
Aysa Jordan, Opelousas
St. Martin Parish
Lillah Garcia, Breaux Bridge
St. Mary Parish
Kiya Merritt, Patterson
St. Tammany Parish
Riley Beck, Covington
Layla Burton, Slidell
Elana Valentine Eastridge, Slidell
Parker Lagman, Mandeville
Jessie Zaffron, Mandeville
Terrebonne Parish
Brylynn Chaisson, Bourg
Joy Dong, Houma
DJ Flood, Houma
Annie Johnson, Gray
Cullen Pierce, Houma
Chloe Trosclair, Bourg
Jay Trosclair, Bourg
Vernon Parish
Joey Chen, Leesville
Thomas Lubbos, Leesville
Kushal Upadhyay, Leesville
Washington Parish
Cam Magee, Franklinton
Webster Parish
Emma Boyd, Heflin
West Baton Rouge Parish
Nicole Barrett, Addis
Nathan Berthelot, Brusly
Emma Earl, Brusly
Leah Aranas, Atlanta, GA
Phillip Voorhees, Gulfport, MS 
Note to Media: A Dropbox folder featuring high-resolution images of LSMSA’s 40th Commencement Ceremony can be accessed here. For photos of specific students or individuals, contact Chris Jay, Coordinator of External Affairs, at cjay@lsmsa.edu. 

Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts

© 2024 LSMSA All Rights Reserved