This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

LSMSA Dedicates the Bill Ebarb Spirit of Louisiana School Award During Senior Recognition Ceremony

During its 40th Anniversary Senior Recognition Ceremony, held on Friday, May 17, LSMSA dedicated one of its most prestigious annual honors in the name of longtime school administrator Dr. Bill Ebarb.
The award, which was previously known as the Spirit of Louisiana School Award, will now be known as the Bill Ebarb Spirit of Louisiana School Award. The award acknowledges and celebrates students who have made a unique and meaningful contribution to LSMSA and who have impacted and inspired their peers, teachers, and other members of the LSMSA community. A total of 69 LSMSA students have received the award since it was introduced in 1985.
“We all know that it’s not the buildings or even the curriculum that makes for an incredible school; it’s the people,” Dr. Steve Horton, LSMSA Executive Director, said. “Bill makes LSMSA a better place, which is why it’s so fitting that we are renaming this award in his honor.”
Not only did Ebarb serve LSMSA as Comptroller, Director of Finance, and Deputy Director for 26 years before retiring in 2009, but—as a 30-something year-old legislative intern in Baton Rouge—he drafted the original legislation that created LSMSA in 1983. In 2015, he published the definitive history of LSMSA, The Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts: The First 30 Years. Ebarb came out of retirement in the Summer of 2023, when Dr. Horton asked him to accept the role of Special Assistant to the Executive Director. Ebarb, a graduate of Louisiana Tech University and the University of Mississippi, lives in Natchitoches with his wife, Sharon. They have two sons, Daniel and Brian; Brian is a 1997 LSMSA graduate.
This year’s recipients of the Bill Ebarb Spirit of Louisiana School Award were announced following the award dedication. They are: William Huguet, of Greenwell Springs; Mackenzie Lacombe, of Prairieville; and Brenley Murry, of Walker.
LSMSA is a tuition-free, public high school for high-achieving rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors with a nominal room and board fee to cover housing, meals, and campus activities. The LSMSA Foundation offers assistance for families in need to ensure that no eligible student is denied access to the school’s 40-year legacy of a premium college-level living/learning experience. 
To apply for admission to LSMSA beginning next academic school year, visit www.LSMSA.edu.