This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

LSMSA Class of 2023 celebrates 39th commencement ceremony

103 TOPS-qualified graduates earn $30,910,405 in undedicated, merit-based scholarships

During LSMSA’s 39th Commencement Ceremony, 103 seniors graduated from the school. The ceremony was held in Prather Coliseum on the campus of Northwestern State University on May 20, 2023.
“The Louisiana School is a continuum with a strong past and a hopeful future," said LSMSA Executive Director Dr. Steve Horton. “As you celebrate this significant milestone in your life, I encourage you to keep in mind the support and encouragement you received during this journey.”
LSMSA’s commencement tradition began in Prather in 1985 with 172 members of the first graduating class. Horton began the 39th commencement by expressing gratitude to everyone who makes the Louisiana School possible, including citizens throughout the state, legislators, elected officials, alumni, families, faculty, staff, students, and the board of directors. He then recognized members of senior administration who have helped make the school’s success possible, including Dr. John Allen (’98), Chief of Staff and Director of Operations; Ms. Angela Couvillion (’93), Registrar and Chief Articulation Officer; Dr. Kristi Pope Key, Director of Academic Affairs; Ms. Ali Landry, Executive Director of the LSMSA Foundation; Ms. Christie Price, Dean of Students; Ms. Emily Shumate, Director of Enrollment Services and Institutional Research; Ms. Rolanda Slutsky, Director of Support Services; and Ms. Randi Washington, Director of the Living Community.
In her senior address, “Living Life Forward,” Ashley Green of Houma spoke about progressing beyond difficulty.
“At LSMSA, we have developed the durability and maturity that we need to pick ourselves up and keep moving forward. We’ve been taught to use our voices for what we believe in, regardless of our opposition,” she said. “The school has given us the skills to be doers, and as doers, we can accomplish our dreams. Thank you, LSMSA, for helping us to understand and to live.”
Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Commissioner of Higher Education for the state of Louisiana, was the keynote speaker.
“Whatever your future holds, we know it will be amazing because you’ve put in amazing work,” said Reed, who referred to the class as resilient and steadfast, particularly given their untraditional high school careers due to the Covid-19 pandemic. “Louisiana needs each and every one of you – all your talents, all your energy, and all you have to offer.”
Sixty percent of LSMSA’s graduating class will attend 13 colleges and universities in Louisiana while 40 percent are headed to 37 different universities throughout the U.S. and abroad. Collectively, the LSMSA Class of 2023 – all of whom qualify for TOPS – has been awarded $30, 910,405 in undedicated, merit-based scholarships. This scholarship money is in addition to more than 3,000 hours of college credit earned through articulation agreements and dual enrollment credits, which more than 84 percent of the class took advantage of during their time at LSMSA.
“The pandemic and its related fallout created monumental challenges, but you proved that in times of crisis, we find our character in moving forward, in embracing challenges, and in serving our communities,” said Horton. “I want to challenge you as the Class of 2023 to continue to excel, to continue to learn and to serve, and to know that the Louisiana School will remain here for you and with you. Go forward – go forward and excel.”
LSMSA’s newest alumni by parish are:
Ascension Parish
Aidan Borne
Abigail Melancon

Bossier Parish
Marshall Gawel
Leighanna Kain
Jasper Lamont

Caddo Parish
Daniel Kennen

Calcasieu Parish
Joy Dong
Mateo Este-McDonald
Joshua Gillett
Garrett Gould
Kamryn Keys
Isabella Leslie
Jordan Murray
Reese Nordan
Elise Ramcourt

East Baton Rouge Parish
Ren Ackoury
Sarah Baquedano-Zavala
River Costello
Theseus Hoffpauir
Alyse Huguet
Evangeline Parish
Beau Fontenot
Karli Swanzy

Iberia Parish
Ravi Baker
Olivia Brown
Salim Elkhan
Damian Liamkeo

Jefferson Davis Parish
Mark Stanton

Jefferson Parish
Asean Nguyen

Lafayette Parish
Adrianna Connolly
Gabriela Juarez
Uyen Nhi Pham
Cole Williamson

Lafourche Parish
Juliana Allemand
Lara Boudreaux
Errol Chouest
Maggie Duet
Summer Rodrigue
McKinlee Thibodeaux
Lincoln Parish
Peter Owen
Samuel Owen
Kate Peterson
Anh Pham
Rosie Shultz

Livingston Parish
Delaney Ferris

Natchitoches Parish
Joshua Chesal
Rachael Christensen
Eli Dyjack
Hunter LaGrange
Anne Michelle Long

Orleans Parish
Tadgh Bowman

Ouachita Parish
Manasi Desai
Pooja Garlapati
Abigail Shumate

Pointe Coupee Parish
Emma Circello
Victoria Friddle

Rapides Parish
Samantha Abi-Rached
Sofia Adams-Giron
L.J. Aguillard
Gianna Benavides
Jolie England
Avijit Kumar
Kate Long
Talyn Novak
Cas Perry
Niya Thomas
Mikala Veronie

St. Charles Parish
Maci Bergeron
Julian Conravey
Luke Gauthreaux
Lyrrice Mwaghore
Emerson LeDoux
Jeanne Patterson

St. Mary Parish
Annemarie Campbell
Lacey Guagliardo

St. Tammany Parish
Samantha Dugan
Arianna Jackson
Ari Lee
Isabella Tarasova
Madeline Williams

Tangipahoa Parish
Aroma Chanda
Carter Copsey
Emma Crawford
Isabella Danos
Adam Deslatte
Myles DiMattia
Silas Falgout
Victoria Wootan

Terrebonne Parish
Aaron Burton
Hunter Chaisson
Madalynn Collier
Ashley Green
Kaitlyn Hoang
Joy Qiu

Vermilion Parish
Claire Gremillion

Vernon Parish
Evan Shelton

Washington Parish
Raiyne Brant

West Feliciana Parish
Aidan Feess
Anna Landry

Out of state
William Brown – Industry, TX
Emma Cecchini – Cary, NC
London Osborn – League City, TX
Jaime Perdue – Kingwood, TX
Mary Claire Theut – The Woodlands, TX
LSMSA, an internationally ranked boarding school, is a tuition-free, public high school for high-achieving rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors with a nominal room and board fee to cover housing, meals, and campus activities. The LSMSA Foundation offers assistance for families in need to ensure no eligible student is denied the school’s college-level living/learning experience.

Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts

© 2018 LSMSA All Rights Reserved