This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Louisiana School welcomes 120 new students at Matriculation Ceremony

LSMSA holds traditional ceremony Friday, Sept. 2

LSMSA recognized 120 new students representing 59 percent of the state’s parishes during its annual Matriculation Ceremony held Friday, Sept. 2 in the NSU A.A. Fredericks Auditorium.

Of more than 250 applicants statewide, 10 students joined the tuition-free, state-funded residential school’s senior class of 2023, 35 joined the class of 2024, and 75 became the beginning of LSMSA's class of 2025. More than 75 percent of the incoming class came to LSMSA with a GPA of at least 3.9 and an average incoming ACT score that was six points higher than the average exiting ACT score for seniors in the state of Louisiana. Matriculants joined LSMSA leadership onstage to sign an official roster, officially cementing each of their places in the school's nearly 40-year history.

"You have signed up for what I call the ride of your life,” said Executive Director Steve Horton, who reminded new students to enjoy every minute of their time at LSMSA. “I am fortunate to take this ride with you and know that all of us at LSMSA have your best interests close to our hearts."

LSMSA Associate Lecturer of Theatre Scott Theriot, MFA, delivered a keynote address encouraging students to find joy in the process of their pursuits, not just in the end results.

“Put yourself out there,” he said. "Take that class, join that club or sport, give yourself over to something that brings you joy. Once you find it, cast out that net and let others see the joy you’ve found. Maybe it can be theirs, too."

"Your being here today signifies your talents and determination," encouraged LSMSA Senior Class President Ashley Green ('23) of Houma. "Your efforts to make it here prove that you belong."

The processional was performed by the LSMSA Instrumental Ensemble conducted by Dr. Al Benner with the Pledge of Allegiance led by SGO President Rosie Shultz ('23) of Ruston. Jamie Perdue ('23) of Kingwood, Texas sang the National Anthem, and Emma Wale ('24) of Laplace led the crowd in singing the Alma Mater. Following the ceremony, students returned home to enjoy the first Extended Weekend of the academic year.

New students are:

Class of 2023
Sarah Baquedano, East Baton Rouge Parish
Maci Bergeron, St. Charles Parish
Olivia Brown, Iberia Parish
Delaney Ferris, Livingston Parish
Theseus Hoffpauir, East Baton Rouge Parish
Gabriela Juarez, Lafayette Parish
Hunter LaGrange, Natchitoches Parish
Anna Landry, West Feliciana Parish
Peter Owen, Lincoln Parish
Mary Claire Theut, Montgomery County
Class of 2024
Aiden Allgire, St. Landry Parish
Reese Anderson, Beauregard Parish
Nicole Barrett, West Baton Rouge Parish
Riley Beck, St. Tammany Parish
Nathan Berthelot, West Baton Rouge Parish
Rayne Brumley, Ascension Parish
Madden Coker, East Baton Rouge Parish
Anjana Danivas, Rapides Parish
Nathan Dart, Allen Parish
Alayna Dees, Natchitoches Parish
Mason Duplechain, Pointe Coupee Parish
Cristal Evans, St. Landry Parish
Kameron Friddle, Pointe Coupee Parish
Will Garner, Calcasieu Parish
Emily Gary, St. Landry Parish
Lilly Godwin, Evangeline Parish
Grace Henry-Tarrant, Lafayette Parish
Malorie Hood, Bossier Parish
Annie Johnson, Terrebonne Parish
Mackenzie LaCombe, Ascension Parish
Hunter Linder, Franklin Parish
Sophia Lytle, Rapides Parish
Joseph Maggio, Natchitoches Parish
Za'Kiyah Merritt, St. Mary Parish
Brenley Murry, Livingston Parish
Lee Olivier, Iberia Parish
Jake Overton, East Baton Rouge Parish
William Reed, St. Charles Parish
Kevin Ricks, St. Charles Parish
Sam Ryan, Beauregard Parish
Najm Shalabi, Rapides Parish
Tyler Sutherland, Ouachita Parish
Ava Toms, Bienville Parish
Cody Williams, Franklin Parish
Shelia Williams, Beauregard Parish
Sophia Witman, Natchitoches Parish
Class of 2025
Cameron Adams, Ouachita Parish
Anastasia Albarado, Harris County
Blaise Albarez, St. Tammany Parish
C.C. Leonidas Alsobrook, St. Tammany Parish
Allyssa Ardoin, Calcasieu Parish
Gabbie Ariza, Out of Country
CM Arnouville, Terrebonne Parish
Issabella Berry, Sabine Parish
Dru Blakeman, St. Mary Parish
Tori Bourque, Ascension Parish
Ciaran Brady, Vernon Parish
Elizabeth Buckles, Calcasieu Parish
Sayleigh Butterfield, Grant Parish
Jayla Carpenter, St. Tammany Parish
Cath Collette, Calcasieu Parish
Joey Crawford, Caddo Parish
Marijane Delhommer, Vermilion Parish
Bailey Derouen, Allen Parish
Kayleigh Dewberry, Lincoln Parish
Rylie Eirls, Rapides Parish
Addison Evans, Natchitoches Parish
Nola Frazier, East Baton Rouge Parish
Evan Frioux, El Paso County
Braeden Gentry, Calcasieu Parish
Emma Guillory, Evangeline Parish
Marlie Harris, St. Mary Parish
Audie Hauptman, Livingston Parish
Luis Hernandez, Jefferson Parish
Grace Herpin, Lafayette Parish
Taylor Hubbell, Terrebonne Parish
Jacob Hypes, Natchitoches Parish
Isaiah Johnson, Alameda County
Grace Jung, Caddo Parish
Jude Kannankeril, Jefferson Parish
Anderson Kelly, Natchitoches Parish
Addy Landry, West Feliciana Parish
Ian Leger, St. Tammany Parish
Wesley Maidoh, Terrebonne Parish
Olivia Marant, Terrebonne Parish
Emi Masden, East Baton Rouge Parish
Collin McNeely, DeSoto Parish
Kirschten Methvin, Tangipahoa Parish
Harmon Middleton, Franklin Parish
Alivelu Morampudi, Ouachita Parish
Daniel Norwood, Washington Parish
Finley O'Con, Natchitoches Parish
Esha Patel, Rapides Parish
Colin Perret, Tangipahoa Parish
Claire Perritt, Natchitoches Parish
Ceph Plaisance, Lafourche Parish
Maddie Register, DeSoto Parish
River Reynolds, Calcasieu Parish
Faith Richard, Tangipahoa Parish
Madeline Riles, Lafayette Parish
Finn Robinson, Franklin Parish
Kiera Robinson, Santa Clara County
Jeffrey Schneider, Caddo Parish
Summerlyn Schwartz, St. Mary Parish
Kristina Scoggins, St. Landry Parish
Lenora Shackelford, East Baton Rouge Parish
Abby Sims, Ouachita Parish
Sylas Slaughter, Lincoln Parish
Ava Sonnier, Allen Parish
Jan Stahl, Livingston Parish
Waylon Taylor, Union Parish
Sophia Thibodeaux, Calcasieu Parish
Kyler Toms, Bienville Parish
Claudia Varnado, East Baton Rouge Parish
Damon Waltman, St. Martin Parish
Ahna Woodruff, Rapides Parish
Rocky Wright, Jefferson Parish
Isaac Young, Natchitoches Parish
Peter Yu, Lincoln Parish

Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts

© 2018 LSMSA All Rights Reserved