This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

LSMSA honors students at Future Scientist Program Banquet

New, rising and senior FSP members were honored at annual banquet.
Students who excelled in the sciences were honored at LSMSA's 13th annual Future Scientist Program (FSP) Banquet. The event was held on Saturday, May 4 at the National Center for Preservation Technology and Training.
During the banquet, the group recognized all of the new and rising members of the program. Each student received a certificate for their acceptance and their accomplishments.

Members of the Senior class who completed the program were also recognized. Each of the seniors received a medal in Excellence to wear at graduation and will receive an Excellence in Science at LSMSA’s Senior Recognition ceremony on May 17.

The seniors who received medals of Excellence were:
  • Jordan Byrd of Denham Springs
  • Marlies Carter of Madisonville
  • Colt Crain of Zachary
  • Ian Crochet of New Iberia
  • Jayaditya Deep of Natchitoches
  • Donavan Dowden of Shreveport
  • Myles Fabre of Baton Rouge
  • Grace Fields of Prairieville
  • Juliet Flanagan of Pearl River
  • Daniel Metzger of Slidell
  • John Cooper Miller of Natchitoches
  • Oluwatobi Ojemakinde of Shreveport
  • Ishika Patel of Many
  • Collin Serigne of Cut Off
  • Joan Sporer of Leesville
  • Jaiden Stark of DeRidder
  • Casey Tonnies of Bossier City
  • Chris Tonnies of Bossier City
  • Ben Walker of Mandeville
Recipients were introduced by Senior Lecturer of Chemistry Dr. Chris Hynes, who also serves as the department’s student research advisor, and Principal Lecturer of Biology and Department Chair Dr. Allison Landry.

LSMSA alumna Mila’na Thomas (’10) was the Keynote Speaker at the event. Thomas currently works as a research associate at the University of Texas at Dallas’s Material Science Department.
“I want to take the time to congratulate all of you on your accomplishments in the Future Scientist Program,” expressed Thomas in her address. “When I was here, I remember it being a lot of hard work, but it was worth the while because it taught me about service, how to mentor and pointed me into the direction of what I wanted to do.”
At the end of the banquet, Hynes and Landry recognized each of the faculty members within the Science Department, all of whom were mentors to students in the program.
Catering for the event was provided by Sodexo USA.
LSMSA’s Science Department has a diverse offering of courses not typically available in public high schools, and all courses are taught by instructors who have received the highest degree in their field. Those interested in taking advantage of the resources available in the sciences can apply for LSMSA’s 2019-2020 school year now at www.LSMSA.edu/apply.