The Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts Foundation develops and manages resources to enhance the work of LSMSA.


  • Intensify academic excellence at LSMSA by supporting educational and intellectual endeavors that go above and beyond a typical classroom experience
  • Support faculty and staff in their professional development and personal research so that LSMSA teachers can continue to be scholars and artists in their own right
  • Improve and expand LSMSA residential and instructional buildings so that the LSMSA community inhabits a living/learning environment that is both safe and stimulating

LSMSA Foundation Board of Trustees

List of 15 items.

  • Bill New, President

    Bill New is the Founder, Owner and President of New Industries, Inc., a Morgan City, LA based specialty steel fabricator and manufacturer of pressure vessels and subsea production equipment for the oil and gas industry. 
    Read More
  • Michael Robertson, Vice President

    Michael Robertson ('91) is currently the Managing Director for the Lark Play Development Center in New York City where he oversees finance, fundraising, and board development.
    Read More
  • Micah Luftig, PhD, Treasurer

    Dr. Micah Luftig ('94) is currently an Associate Professor in the Molecular Genetics and Microbiology Department at the Duke University School of Medicine where he runs a research lab studying viruses and cancer.
    Read More
  • John Pritchard, Secretary

    John Pritchard ('88) is the Senior Director of Engineering for Adobe and leads their Cloud Platform group. He manages a global technology organization responsible for distributed Cloud services powering Adobe’s Creative, Marketing and Document Cloud systems. 
    Read More
  • Rodney Allen, PhD

    Dr. Rodney Allen taught English at LSMSA for 28 years before his retirement in 2011.  
    Read More
  • Ashley Amy

    Looking for a change of pace in 2014, Ashley Amy ('94) joined a boutique consulting company, serving as a change management subject expert for clients in Houston. 
    Read More
  • Larry Bossier

    Larry Bossier has been a private practice attorney for 36 years, and Assistant DA for the 18th Judicial District Court for 26 years.
    Read More
  • Beth Colvin

    Beth Colvin ('98) is the editor of the Phi Kappa Phi Forum, the quarterly magazine of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.  Beth is also president of Women in Media and recently finished a term on the board of the Baton Rouge Social Media Association.
    Read More
  • Heidi Gomez

    Heidi Gómez ('92) is a U.S. diplomat currently serving as the Science Counselor at the U.S. Embassy in Mexico. 
    Read More
  • Jane Kang, MD

    Dr. Jane Kang ('91) has a private psychotherapy practice in Austin, TX.
    Read More
  • Leizl Montecillo

    Leizl Montecillo ('01) currently lives in New York City and works as Senior Web Developer for truTV.
    Read More
  • Seema Patel

    Seema Patel ('96)'s current role is at Texas Children’s Hospital in the Office of Development, where she focuses on philanthropy outreach to internal constituents and manages a cultivation and stewardship service for hospital donors.
    Read More
  • Mary Ellen Slayter

    Mary Ellen Slayter ('95) is CEO of Rep Cap, a content marketing agency serving companies around the globe from her home base in Baton Rouge. 
    Read More
  • Renu Swartz, MD

    Dr. Renu Swartz ('85) currently lives in Austin, TX and is an OB/GYN at Austin Regional Clinic. 
    Read More
  • Niescja Turner, PhD

    Dr. Niescja Turner ('90) is currently a professor and endowed chair at Trinity University in San Antonio. She previously co-directed a program called the Governor’s School for Space Science and Technology, which is a summer program for gifted rising high school seniors.
    Read More

LSMSA Foundation Staff

List of 3 members.

  • Katja Thomakos MA, CFRE 

    Foundation Executive Director
    Office: 318-357-2578
  • Angela Robinson MEd 

    Assistant Director of Development & External Relations
    Office: 318-357-2552
  • Perla Bogado 

    Foundation Accountant & Office Coordinator
    Office: 318-357-2558