This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.
Named after the late History Instructor and Executive Director of LSMSA, the Richard G. Brown Fund for Faculty Advancement enriches the school by providing annual, individual grants for the professional development of the faculty and staff. In 2014, the LSMSA Foundation’s Board of Trustees initiated the school’s first-ever sabbatical program with introductory support disbursed beginning Fall 2015.

All LSMSA faculty and staff are eligible for Brown Fund grants. The current LSMSA faculty includes "veterans" with years of experience at the school and a "second generation" of talented young teachers. Each offers a unique perspective that helps to create the school's excellent academic environment. Each is committed to high standards and expectations. Each helps to fulfill the school's mission. In order to maintain the school's edge of excellence in Louisiana and the nation, faculty of this caliber require opportunities to refresh knowledge and develop new skills, as well as motivation to pursue a long-term teaching career at LSMSA.
Brown Fund projects include conference travel, certification programs, course development, and fellowships for faculty and staff. In Fall 2015, Dr. Link Hall received the first sabbatical award, followed by Dr. Elizabeth Hall in Spring 2016. Dr. Margaret Hodge was a Spring 2017 sabbatical recipient.  The chart below shows how Brown Fund donations since 2007 have impacted not only faculty and staff professional development but also the overall spirit of excellence that distinguishes the LSMSA experience.

Number of unique recipients 46
Total amount awarded $117,706
Cities visited 29
International travel 7
Curriculum projects 22
Residential life program projects 5
Professional development projects 31
Fellowships, degrees, and certifications earned 13

Your Brown Fund Donations at Work

List of 4 items.

  • 2016-2017 fiscal year recipients: $18,366 awarded

    NameTitle of Project/Event
    Stephen CostinSummer Research Project
    Leroy JamesAssociation of Boarding Schools' Conference 2016
    Charles JonesGoldansky Institute
    Chris KingMaster Wood Cut Class
    Jeff ThomakosMICHA International Michael Chekhov Workshop
    Ro MyersRestorative Yoga
  • 2015-2016 fiscal year recipients: $16,859 awarded

    NameTitle of Project/Event
    Audra AllenDance Science and Somatics Educators Conference
    Andrew NiemanThe National Association of Social Workers Annual National Conference
    Kimberly CainAmerican School Counseling Association Annual Conference
    Lisa BennerVoice lessons with Twyla Robinson
    Pamela FrancisWriting Travel/Travel Writing: British Writers in the Balkans
    Maggie Hodge20th International Congress of Arachnology
    Erin KingCounselor internship at LSMSA
    John BirchAssociation of Boarding Schools' Conference
  • 2014-2015 fiscal year recipients: $23,995 awarded

    NameTitle of Project/Event
    Allison Landry
    Modeling the Molecular World workshop at the Milwaukee School of Engineering
    Kelly Lankford
    Gender, War, and Memory in the Anglo-American World Conference
    Susan Bernath
    Empowering Lives of Students through Residential Support conference
    Link Hall
    The Dictionary Society of North America Biennial Conference
    Kimberly Rogers
    TABS Lab Conference
    Charles Jones
    Golandsky Institute Summer Symposium
    Ruth Prudhomme
    Executive MBA
    Yam Radav
    Multiple excitation modes in 162Yb project and conference
    Jeff Thomakos
    National Michael Chekhov Association Final Presentation for Certification
    Jocelyn Donlon
    "Young Folks Today: Fandoms and Folklore at the Louisiana School,” a paper to be presented at the national convention of the Popular Culture Association conference
  • 2013-2014 fiscal year recipients: $12,400 awarded

    Title of Project/Event
    Brad Burkman
    Creating Online Preparation for Common Core Algebra II at LSMSA
    Jenny Schmitt
    Association for the Promotion of Campus Activities, APCA, annual advisor workshop and training conference for professionals in campus activities and programming
    Mary Bess Wiggers
    National Conference on Girl Bullying and Relational Aggression
    Stephen Costin
    Purchase and development of non-precious metal catalysts for organic chemistry
    Audra Allen
    National Dance Education Organization 16th annual conference
    Chris King
    Additional funding for Arctic Circle artist expedition
    Clayton Delery
    Fees for four photgraphs for book; "The Up Stairs Lounge Arson: Thirty Two Deaths in a New Orleans Gay Bar."

Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts

715 University Parkway
Natchitoches, LA 71457
T: 800.259.3173 | F: 318.357.3189
Directory | Policies | Strategic Plan | Contact Us
© 2018 LSMSA All Rights Reserved