This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.


The Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts Foundation develops and manages resources to enhance the work of LSMSA.


  • Intensify academic excellence at LSMSA by supporting educational and intellectual endeavors that go above and beyond a typical classroom experience
  • Support faculty and staff in their professional development and personal research so that LSMSA teachers can continue to be scholars and artists in their own right
  • Improve and expand LSMSA residential and instructional buildings so that the LSMSA community inhabits a living/learning environment that is both safe and stimulating

LSMSA Foundation Board of Trustees

List of 18 items.

  • Mary Ellen Slayter, President

    Mary Ellen Slayter ('95) is CEO of Rep Cap, a content marketing agency serving companies around the globe from her home base in Baton Rouge. 
    Read More
  • Sue Rosenthal, Vice President

    Sue Rosenthal (’85) has been a practicing attorney in Houston, Texas for the past twenty years and recently relocated to Baton Rouge.  
    Read More
  • Micah Luftig, PhD, Treasurer

    Dr. Micah Luftig ('94) is currently an Associate Professor in the Molecular Genetics and Microbiology Department at the Duke University School of Medicine where he runs a research lab studying viruses and cancer.
    Read More
  • Chris Robichaux, Secretary

    Chris Robichaux teaches ESL and tutors international students preparing for college entrance exams.   
    Read More
  • Ashley Amy

    Ashley Amy is a member of the Class of 1994. After graduating, she completed a BBA in 1998 from Southern Methodist University in marketing and organizational behavior business policy.
    Read More
  • Sterling Augustine

    Sterling Augustine ('87) works as a Senior Software Engineer at Google in Palo Alto, California, where he works on compilers and runtimes for various programming languages including C++ and Python. 
    Read More
  • Grant Belgard, PhD

    Dr. Grant Belgard ('04) is CEO of The Bioinformatics CRO, a globally distributed computational biology contract research organization and consultancy.
    Read More
  • Amanda Callais

    Amanda Callais (’01) currently works as an attorney in the political law group at Perkins Coie in Washington, D.C. 
    Read More
  • Paul Carter

    Paul Carter ('91) works in research and development for Texas Instruments in Dallas, Texas.
    Read More
  • Beth Colvin

    Beth Colvin ('98) is the editor of the Phi Kappa Phi Forum, the quarterly magazine of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.  
    Read More
  • Brandon Daniel

    Brandon Daniel (’00) received his B.S. in Finance and an additional B.S. in Accounting with a concentration in Internal Auditing from Louisiana State University.  
    Read More
  • Heath DeJean

    Heath DeJean

    Heath DeJean ('03) practice corporate and securities law in a large firm setting in Houston, where he counsels companies on SEC compliance and Exchange Act reporting and assists clients with M&A, financing and other transactions. 
    Read More
  • Kate Lowry

    Kate Lowry, PhD

    Dr. Kate Lowry ('06) is a fellow at the Science Philanthropy Alliance, a non-profit organization with a mission to increase private funding for basic science research. 
    Read More
  • Ben Marcel

    Ben Marcel

    Ben Marcel ('00) is the CEO of Torapath Technologies in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 
    Read More
  • Seema Patel

    Seema Patel is a member of the Class of 1996. After leaving LSMSA, she completed her B.A. in Human Services at The George Washington University and her M.P.H. at the Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine. 
    Read More
  • Cashman Prince, PhD

    Dr. Cashman Kerr Prince ('88) served as the sole employee of the nationwide non-profit, Music for Food from 2015 to 2018, bringing together musicians to combat food insecurity on a local level.
    Read More
  • Niescja Turner, PhD

    Dr. Niescja Turner ('90) holds the Zilker endowed professorship in physics and astronomy at Trinity University in San Antonio. 
    Read More
  • Rachelle White

    Rachelle White ('01) currently presides as a State of Texas Administrative Law Judge in Houston. 
    Read More

LSMSA Foundation Staff

List of 3 members.

  • Photo of Angela Robinson

    Angela Robinson MEd 

    Executive Director
    Office: 318-357-2578
  • Photo of Rebekah Maricelli

    Rebekah Maricelli 

    Assistant Director of Communications & Donor Relations
    Office: 318-357-2552
  • Photo of Juliana Sheffield

    Juliana Sheffield MEd 

    Development & Finance Assistant
    Office: 318-357-2558